True Reason Follow-up

I received a comment on my “True Reason For The Season” post that made it clear to me that I was being misunderstood.  The information contained in the comment about the origins of Christmas as we know it is for the most part true.  I do not disagree that Jesus was most likely born earlier in the year and that the December 25th date and most of the basic traditions are founded in paganism. 

But putting the actual history aside for a moment, there is a reason that current Christians can and should take this opportunity to honor the birth of Christ.  The point of my blog post was to address the fact that this celebration wouldn’t exist if Jesus had never allowed Himself to be crucified.  Without the death, burial, and resurrection of Jesus there would be no reason to even attempt to celebrate His birth.  Regardless of when He was born or how this celebration came about historically.

I just wanted the readers of my blog to think beyond the cute little stories of a baby in a manger with three kings, shepherds and animals.  I also wanted the readers to remember that the birth of Christ had one ultimate purpose and that was to pay the penalty for each of our sins.

I am sorry if my post did not properly convey this message.  I will try harder in the future to be much clearer.

KJ – A willing slave of Christ

About kjm2jesus

I am a Christian who is very concerned about the numbers of people that consider themselves to be Christians and are really on the wide path to eternal destruction.
This entry was posted in General Topics and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment